Emily

Emily and I have a complex history, but she has become my most dear friend and most frequent model. I very much enjoy spending time with her, relaxing and playing with the camera. One thing that I love about photographing Emily is sharing ideas of how to make the image better in one way or another. I would not consider this part of “Art work” but I’m finding moments of interest in each shoot. I’ve always been fascinated by images with no greater meaning than visual interest, and in many cases these photo shoots satisfy that need for pure visual interest.

One moment that I’ve been growing more interested in is the moment of preparation. Every photo shoot has images that happen before or during that are meant as tests… yet there are some interesting moments that occur that were never meant to see the light of day. Part of me loves these images because they are the last “true” moments before people start trying to look their best, and another part of me loves them for their unremarkable nature. The mundane can be a beautiful subject matter, if you let it be. After talking about these “moments in between” I have none to publish yet, but will display as soon as I have something to show.

Also I feel it’s important to point out that Emily is a photo editor.. but she didn’t have to do anything to make herself look as beautiful as she is….

Emily

